2019 Andrew Carnegie Fellows

The Andrew Carnegie Fellows Program provides support for high-caliber scholarship in the social sciences and humanities. The anticipated result of each fellowship is the publication of a book or major study that offers a fresh perspective on a pressing challenge of our time. Winning proposals will explore a wide range of topics, including the state of America’s democratic institutions and processes, the cross-section of technology and humanistic endeavor, global connections and global ruptures, and threats to both human and natural environments.

The Fellows

Elizabeth A. Armstrong
Professor, Sociology and Organizational Studies, University of Michigan
David Autor
Ford Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Zainab Bahrani
Edith Porada Professor of Near Eastern Art and Archaeology, Columbia University
Anne Cafer
Assistant Professor, Sociology and Anthropology, University of Mississippi
Margaret Carrel
Associate Professor, Geographical and Sustainable Sciences, University of Iowa
Marcia Chatelain
Provost's Distinguished Associate Professor, History and African-American Studies, Georgetown University
Raj Chetty
William A. Ackman Professor of Economics, Harvard University
William J. Connell
Professor of History and La Motta Chair of Italian Studies, Seton Hall University
Melissa L. Cooper
Assistant Professor of History, Rutgers University-Newark
Zack Cooper
Associate Professor, Public Health and Economics, Yale University
Lorrie Faith Cranor
FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science and of Engineering & Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
Jack E. Davis
Professor of History, University of Florida
John D. Garrigus
Professor of History, University of Texas at Arlington
Michael Greenstone
Milton Friedman Professor in Economics, the College and the Harris School, University of Chicago
J. Alex Halderman
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Michigan
Thomas M. Keck
Michael O. Sawyer Chair of Constitutional Law and Politics, Syracuse University
Young Mie Kim
Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Jeff Kosseff
Assistant Professor, Cyber Science, United States Naval Academy
Brian K. Kovak
Associate Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
Sarah Lamb
Professor of Anthropology, Brandeis University
Michèle Lamont
Professor of Sociology and of African and African American Studies and the Robert I. Goldman Professor of European Studies, Harvard University
Benjamin Lessing
Assistant Professor, Political Science, University of Chicago
JeeLoo Liu
Chair and Professor of Philosophy, California State University, Fullerton
Pamela McElwee
Associate Professor, Human Ecology, Rutgers University
Sally A. Nuamah
Assistant Professor – Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University
Katharine Ricke
Assistant Professor of Climate Science and Policy, University of California, San Diego
Stuart Russell
Professor of Computer Science, University of California, Berkeley
Michael B. Silvers
Assistant Professor of Musicology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sharece Thrower
Assistant Professor, Political Science, Vanderbilt University
Hanqin Tian
Solon & Martha Dixon Professor and Director International Center for Climate and Global Change Research, Auburn University
Stewart A. Weaver
Professor of History, University of Rochester
Sera L. Young
Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Northwestern University