I Love My Librarian!

Republishing Guidelines

Carnegie Corporation of New York encourages you to share our content and permits partial or full reprints, but only with permission. Please read our guidelines.  


2015 I love my Librarian Winners

Diane Brown 
New Haven Free Public Library, Stetson Branch 
New Haven, CT 

Doug Campbell 
Willis Library, University of North Texas 
Denton, TX  

Sylvia Cieply 
Otto A. Fischer School Library, Orange County Juvenile Hall 
Orange, CA 

Dona J. Helmer 
College Gate Elementary School Library 
Anchorage, AK 

Courtney P. Kincaid 
Formerly with Hood County Library 
Granbury, TX  

Leslie D. Koch 
Armstrong Elementary School 
Eastover, NC  

April Roy 
Kansas City Public Library, Lucile H. Bluford Branch 
Kansas City, MO  

Elizabeth G. Rumery 
Avery Point Campus Library, University of Connecticut 
Groton, CT  

Dr. Christopher A. Shaffer 
Troy University  
Troy, AL 

Shugana Williams 
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, Perkinston Campus 
Perkinston, MS 

Congratulations to Ten Winners Honored with Prestigious National Public Service Award

New York, NY December 3, 2015  One librarian from California stood out for helping incarcerated youth learn to enjoy reading. Another was applauded for fostering a deeper understanding of the Muslim world, and a librarian from Texas won over patrons by making his work look “cool!”  All ten winners of this year’s I Love My Librarian Award displayed exceptional public service and were acknowledged for their efforts with a $5,000 prize given to each honoree during a reception hosted by Carnegie Corporation of New York.

The winning librarians were selected from a pool of more than 1,300 nominations submitted by library patrons nationwide who use public, school, college, community college, or university libraries. The nominations included stories about how their favorite librarians help improve the quality of life in their communities.

Vartan Gregorian, president of Carnegie Corporation, thanked librarians for being “the keepers of our memory, our legacy, and also providing what I call stations of hope.”

“I’ve always said that the most dedicated people I have met, other than some teachers, are librarians,” said Vartan Gregorian, president of Carnegie Corporation and past president of The New York Public Library. “I admire librarians because they are the ones who have always upheld First Amendment rights, academic freedom, freedom of speech, and freedom of information.”

The New York Public Library president Tony Marx commented that “we live in a moment of fracturing society and the library is the one shared civic space dedicated to learning.”

The award, now in its eighth year, is administered by the American Library Association and supported by the Corporation, with additional sponsorship from The New York Public Library and The New York Times.  Meet the winners and read more about the award through the ALA website.