I Love My Librarian 2014 Award Winners

Grantees in this story


Congratulations to the ten librarians honored with this year’s Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award. Selected from a pool of more than 1,000 nominations, each awardee was chosen for demonstrating the critical role librarians play in transforming lives and communities through education and lifelong learning.

Library patrons across the country who use public, school, college, community college, or university libraries submitted detailed stories describing why they love their librarians. Each winner receives a $5,000 cash award, a plaque, and a travel stipend to attend the awards ceremony and reception in New York City on December 2, which is hosted by The New York Times at its Manhattan headquarters.

Watch a video about a winner from Staten Island, New York, and read about all of this year’s I Love My Librarian Award recipients in the list below:

Michael Beller
F.W. Olin Library, Mills College
Oakland, CA

Cherry Hamrick
Delta Township District Library
Lansing, MI

Jessica Elaine Holmes
Westridge Elementary School Library Media Center
Frankfort, KY

Lynn Hancock Hurt
Brown Library at Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke, VA

David Lopez
Santa Ana (CA) Public Library

Christine Payne
Appoquinimink High School
Middletown, DE

Kevin M. Ray
Cleveland Public Library

Ciro Scardina
P.S. 18 School Library
Staten Island, NY

Sarah A. Sugden
Waterville (ME) Public Library

Frances Yates
Indiana University East
Richmond, IN

Learn more about the award and meet the 2014 winners.