Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy Ceremonies

The Medal of Philanthropy is awarded on behalf of the international family of Carnegie institutions to recognize those who follow Andrew Carnegie’s example in philanthropy. This year the honorees receive their medals at a ceremony held at the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh, on October 17, 2013. This is only the second time, since it was inaugurated in 2001, that the ceremony has been held outside the United States, both times in Scotland. The ceremony was last hosted by the Scottish Parliament in 2005. This year’s event also marks the centennial of the establishment of the Carnegie UK Trust.

The philanthropic activities of this year’s Carnegie medalists span the globe and include support for education, science, entrepreneurship and the arts. This year’s recipients are: Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, Chairperson of the Qatar Foundation for Education, Science, and Community Development, and one of Forbes' 100 Most Powerful Women; Sir Tom Hunter, the British entrepreneur who the Sunday Times of London called Scotland’s first home-grown billionaire; Dr. James Harris Simons—honored along with his wife, economist Dr. Marilyn Simons—the American mathematician who founded one of the world's most successful hedge fund companies; Dr. Dmitry Zimin, the founder of the second largest telecom business in Russia; and Dame Janet Wolfson de Botton DBE on behalf of the Wolfson family, founders of the Wolfson Foundation.

The Carnegie Medal is awarded biannually to a selection of the world’s leading philanthropists. Previous winners include Walter Annenberg and Leonore Annenberg, the Rockefeller Family, the Gates Family, the Sainsbury Family, the Cadbury Family, George Soros, Sir Tom Farmer CVO, and New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg. The Medal is awarded on behalf of the network of more than 20 organizations Andrew Carnegie endowed in America and in Europe.