2017 Academic Leadership Award Winners

On September 12, Carnegie Corporation of New York named seven exceptional American college and university presidents as recipients of its 2017 Academic Leadership Award. The honor consists of $500,000 in support for each winner’s academic initiatives.

The award recognizes educators who, in addition to fulfilling their administrative and managerial roles with dedication and creativity, demonstrate vision and an outstanding commitment to excellence in undergraduate education, the liberal arts, equal opportunity, the development of major interdisciplinary programs, international engagement, and the promotion of strong ties between their institutions and their local communities. 

The 2017 honorees are:

2017 Academic Leadership Award Winners

1Joseph E. Aoun

Joseph E. Aoun: President, Northeastern University; Boston, Massachusetts

2Mark P. Becker

Mark P. Becker: President, Georgia State University; Atlanta, Georgia

3John J. DeGioia

John J. DeGioia: President, Georgetown University; Washington, D.C.

4Nariman Farvardin

Nariman Farvardin: President, Stevens Institute of Technology; Hoboken, New Jersey

5Maria Klawe

Maria Klawe: President, Harvey Mudd College; Claremont, California

6DeRionne Pollard

DeRionne Pollard: President, Montgomery College; Rockville, Maryland

7Barbara R. Snyder

Barbara R. Snyder: President, Case Western Reserve University; Cleveland, Ohio